This is a kiddie quilt I made for my son. He is in pre-school :)

Why do I specify that he is in pre-school ! Well, he is just getting to recognize the letters A-B-C and numbers 1-2-3 and wanted a quilt which had the letters (to begin with). By the time I settled down to cut out the fabric letters, numbers had also got added to the request list.

So this is a quilt made on demand …

Its a broadcloth quilt and the letters/numbers are hand appliqued onto it. Post that its quilted in a wriggly labyrinthine fashion. This is the first time I used free motion quilting…in my earlier avatar of quilting I didn’t have a sewing machine that had FMQ functionality. I used my grandmom’s mechanical hand driven sewing machine from 1949. It had passed on from my grandmom to my mom and then to me. I just did straight line quilting…and not much at that.

Since the new HV came in, I had been really scared to use/change the foot and try the new functionality for fear that something might go wrong with the beautiful piece of machinery. But I had to take the leap of faith sometime and let go of my fear of the unknown. And with this quilt, I am am happy I did. I just love FMQ now and looking forward to do more of it.

Apart from that, I am also learning bias tape making. This is the first large project in which I have used home made bias tape.The copper Sulphate bias border for this quilt is the second set of bias tape I am making from a fat quarter. The first one was white. learnt it from an online tutorial and love the magical way in which a fat quarter converts itself into yards of continuous and beautiful bias tape.

Blogger’s Quilt Festival Stats
Name: Dhruv’s ABC quilt
Size: 54″ X 42″
Quilted by: Me(Leena)
Appliqued by : Me(Leena)
Special technique: Hand needle turn applique, beginner’s FMQ
Best Category : Applique Quilt, Baby Quilt, Home Machine Quilted Quilt

Linking it to Blogger’s Quilt Festival:

Amy's Creative Side
