ok ok I get it…this is not a rug ! I am just generally fond of alliterations!

As part of a quilting challenge, I decided to use different fabrics and I thought a crazy quilt patch work would suit fine. All I planned was an assorted variety of fabric including velvet, brasso, upholstery fabric, synthetic material, cotton and embroidered cotton fabric. Quilting is done by hand using simple running stitch that moved inside with each concentric rectangle towards the center starting with the perimeter. The border is a contrasting lace from canada that I received as part of a trim swap. A heartfelt thank you to my swap partner…the contrasting lace makes the crazy quilt block all the more gorgeous.
It is 12″ X18″ in size.

Hubby says it looks rich and kid has already taken it off as a quilt for his spider man toy :)

photo(18)

Learnings from the project:
A hand quilted crazy quilt patchwork piece takes double the time anticipated but is also twice as beautiful :D I was always scared of crazy-quilt thinking I will never get the combination right, but the end result is far more beautiful than what I thought it would be. Feels great !

photo(19)

Linking it to WIP Wednesday !
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

