Sharon of http://www.pintangle.com has been a constant inspiration for me in the world of surface embroidery. Although I am just beginning my journey into needlework I have long seen her beautiful work and admired her variety, passion and dedication for needlework and fabric . She has been running several challenges on her site and this year I have joined her Stitch Explorer 2009. As part of the January challenge I have designed and completed a girgham quilt with chicken scratch on it for my 4month old baby. The quilt, rather a wrap for the baby measures 18″by30″ when complete.

A picture of the completed work.

Completed Baby Wrap

Completed Baby Wrap

Border details in red and white.

Border detail

Border detail

Border Detail

Border Detail

I tried the centre with 2 variations-the colour of the thread was darker to make the centre design more promiment and 4 small squares were fitted into one square of the fabric in the framework stitches. They were later laced to form a daisy.

Motif

Motif

The completed centre design.

Centre Motif

Centre Motif

