One of my closest friends recently had a baby boy. As luck would have it, her baby shares my son’s name. Her kid also shares his birthday with me. As she is moving out to another country, I decided to make her baby a quilt she could remember me by…

I has seen lovely Half Rectangle Triangle(HRT) at the Modern Quilt Guild a while back and they looked very interesting….perfect for a little boy. I seemed to have the perfect fabric for the quilt and as I started to cut and sew, the shapes fell in place like magic…I continued and the quilt top kept looking better and better. I kept sewing like I was possessed and soon enough the quilt was ready ! It turned out better than expected !

Here is the process depicted pictorially…

The Fabric:

The Type I -HRT(Half Rectangle Triangles):

Both type of HRT(Half Rectangle Triangles):

The layout:

The quilt top:

Basting the quilt:

And the final quilt on my sofa

Linking it to WIP Wednesday !
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

