A set of colourful winter coasters

Standard

Why do I call them winter coasters? Because, they are made of wool…summers are so hot here, I would possibly faint at the mention of wool :)

coasters

I will be undertaking the daunting task of starting an afghan, a real full sized afghan.This is the first time I am attempting a large crochet project. And, knowing my love for double crochet, call it a near obsession, I found myself the retro circle tutorial at the Three beans in a pod absolutely beautiful.

I tried a few coasters just to get a hang of the pattern before I jump head long into the afghan project(with a little variation, of course)…absolutely love the fact that all DCs from row 2 to 5 are in the back loop. It leaves a lovely ridge on top that makes the whirls of Dc stand out in concentric rings :)

Round 1: A magic circle
Round 2: Chain 3, marking the 1st DC(double crochet) and then 11 more. Close with a slip stitch onto the 3rd chain.Total =12 stitches

Round 3: Chain 3, marking the 1st double crochet, 1 DC in the same stitch, continue with 2 DC in each of the base chains. Close with a slip stitch onto the 3rd chain. Total =24 stitches

Round 4: Chain 3,marking the 1st DC.1 DC in same chain.2 DC in the next,continuing with 2 DC in every alternate chain, and 1 in every alternate(so 1DC,2 DC, 1DC,2DC…). Close with a slip stitch onto the 3rd chain.Total =36 stitches

This is where my pattern deviates from that of Adele:

Round 5:Chain 3,marking the 1st DC.1 DC in same chain.2 DC in the next,continuing with 2 DC in every alternate chain and 1 in every alternate(so 1DC,2 DC, 1DC,2DC…).Close with a slip stitch onto the 3rd chain.Total =52 stitches
Change colour here.

Round 6:Chain 3,marking the 1st DC.1 DC in each chain after this and continue till last chain in the ring.Close with a slip stitch onto the 3rd chain.Total =52 stitches

Linking this to Whoop Whoop Friday at Confessions of a Fabric addict!

3 responses »

  1. Love you crocheted colorful coaster. Knitting I love, but crochet is impossible for me. I hold the hook incorrectly and I am too old to relearn now. I will stick to my quilting and knitting. This year I made hand quilted Christmas tree coaster for gifts…they were such fun. The info for them is on the blog should you think you would ever be interested in trying them. Happy New Year. genie

  2. Pingback: An Adventurous Crocheter | Crochet | CraftGossip.com

  3. These are lovely! I enjoy crocheting coasters and larger round or oval shapes to set a plant on. It’s easy & surprisingly beautiful to crochet with 2 strands of yarn together. It makes a thicker, more absorbent coaster. You can use colors or variegated yarns to match your d├ęcor. Keep crocheting! You are so talented. Crochet is wonderfully soothing to do on a cold night. I also like to crochet scarves, using as many as 3 colors of yarn at the same time. Then, use all three colors for the fringe. Bev

Leave a Reply

