Quilt dimension: 40″X50″
Binding: 2″ double binding
Fabric: printed fabric sent by a quilting friend , yellow and white from the stash, hand dyed binding fabric
Purpose: Gift for sis’ friend who recently had a baby girl

The quilt top was complete a long time back and was waiting in my cupboard to be quilted and bound.This Saturday I found time to quilt it with butterflies and bind it with a hand dyed yellow poplin.

Butterfly quilt

Butterfly quilt

Here it lies on my sofa in all its splendour!

FullSizeRender(26)

I like the pop of yellow in between and the fact that I could use the printed fabric productively. Its not my kind of modern, but I wanted to test if I could convert it into something beautiful and quilty!

FullSizeRender(27)

I was looking for an easy FMQ design to cover up the white sashing and the butterflies just seemed so apt 🙂 Am glad how they turned out and the way the yellow quilting complements the yellow blocks…initially, I wanted to try a darker shade of yellow so taht it shows on the white but later decided to go with the thread that matches the fabric. I am glad I did, as a chrome or ochre quilting would have looked out of place.

Yellow butterflies

Yellow butterflies

Note: A simple fabric can be elevated using a pop of colour and appropriate quilting …

Happy with the August finish 🙂 and a perfect quilt for a little one to brighten up her rainy day !!

