A playmat with easy FMQ was long due. My little one catches a cold when he plays on the floor which has marbelite tiles. So I have been thinking of making a playmat for him for a while now. However, the mother and son had long discussions on how the playmat should look and whether it should cater to his Lego blocks or his Hot wheel cars. Finally, this playmat emerged.

Wholecloth Platmat

Wholecloth Platmat

Not because we got to a consensus, but because we had varying views on the playmat. Each time we discussed, the views changed along with the ‘lil one’s demands. At some point, I just put my foot down and said, “I am making a wholecloth playmat”…if we ever reach a consensus then I can sew another one …ha ha ha

IMG_4427

It turned out quite nice actually and got completed in record time. The side binding used one of my triangle decorative stitches in the sewing machine in neon green. The neon threads that I have been itching to use came of help ๐Ÿ™‚

at the beach

at the beach

Here, the little one is using the playmat with his sand toys ๐Ÿ™‚

Quilt Type: Wholecloth
Quilt name: Roadways Playmat
Size: 40″X55″
Purpose: Playmat
Fabric: Roadways and railways with European cities, local fabric

