As you have recently seen, I was in a sewing slump all though February. I wonder why! As the quilting tempo has again caught up, I wonder what was wrong in February! I just didn’t feel like quilting anything and now, suddenly, I am unable to keep my quilting enthusiasm in check. ha ha ha

I have a quilt meet coming up for which the homework(yep! you read it right, we have homework to complete if we want to attend the meet 🙂 makes me feel like I am back in school) is a runner 10″X30″ dimension and a 10.5″ block as a hostess gift.

Log cabin block

Log cabin block

I made this block in black and white with a bit of red and maroon thrown in. Its my first log cabin block but I almost killed myself; not as much on the making of the log cabin, which came through rather smoothly, but more on the combination of Indian fabric to be used in each ring. Am glad it came together well and the combination mandated was black and white, which I didn’t remember then. Glad I used the black and white combinations from my stash; passes muster .

Runner

Runner

For the runner, which again was a first, I wanted to try a different pattern(something new) so decided upon a drunkard’s path. Made it from scratch including the template. I did some FMQ, just some stippling on it, magenta over blue and blue over magenta. A tight 2.25″ binding closed the deal.I still think its small but that’s the specification.

Runner

Runner

Planning to make a lot more of them 🙂

