Recently, I took part in a local swap. Let me, on the onset, say that I love swaps and especially, the mini quilt variety. I have a whole cupboard full of swap minis stacked up somewhere in the house…ok! ok! exaggeration alert…But I definitely have at least a drawer full of minis, all too precious to be ever used!

HST Polka Dot mini

This one came out of the blue…literally! partner wanted a combination of orange-green and blue and the swap was of HST(which I love) and polka dots(which I love as well) but not together…So what started as an easy mini quilt swap, when I got to making it, became a nightmare of sorts. To put in all the items together and decide a design, that would do justice to the various elements was no mean task.

HST Polka Dot mini

Am happy with the final outcome. The quilt top ended up looking like our National Flag, which was great but not the intended end result, so thats where I decided on adding the FMQ in blue with a blue binding…so all elements in, blended harmoniously and a cushion cover and Fat quarter of fabric to go with the mini.

HST Polka Dot mini

Quilt name: TAC HST polka Dot mini Quilt
Thread: 2810 Aurifil 28 weight for FMQ
FMQ: Alternating single and double swirls
Machine: bernina 550QE
Fabric: Indian local
Binding:2.5″ double, although I think 2.2.5 would have been tighter and better
Quilt Size:

Linking this to Sew Fresh Quilts and Crazy Mom Quilts.

