This has been a super quick finish…
Technically its just the pieced top that is completed but I am happy none the less 🙂

The Top is 82″ X 102″
That’s big enough to cover a king size bed and have a slight fall on the sides.

It took me a Sunday(one full Sunday of no cooking, cleaning and eating out and only sewing ) along with two quick sessions on weekday mornings(Monday and Tuesday) to cut the jelly roll strips and sew together the Rainbow quilt top. This has boosted up my confidence in taking up and tackling large projects. It started off when my friend, Kausalya, helping me put together an assorted bundle of dots in 8.5″…100 pieces in all in 8 colours…the 7 VIBGYOR colours with black.

Winding Rainbow

Then came the thought of how to put together the quilt top. I had seen ‘falling charms’ while making my prior blue project at the Missouri Star Quilt Company and I thought it would be a good idea to try a modified version with larger blocks. As the sashing continues to be at 2.5″, the pre-cuts are at 8.5″ and hence the entire look of the quilt top is very different. The staggered rainbow looks bright and beautiful ….very spring and summery!

The moment she saw a snap of the quilt top, she said she would have named it the ‘Winding Rainbow’! I took the clue and named it such 🙂

Now to some backing and quilting before gifting it away!!

